Setting up ACID in a virtual environment for personal use

Discussion on the ACID distribution package
W2BAP
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 5:54 am

Setting up ACID in a virtual environment for personal use

Postby W2BAP » Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:35 pm

I have setup an AllStar HUB node in a virtual server setup using Oracle's VirtualBox software. What I have found is that the current ACID distro that is provide at http://www.allstarlink.org can be successfully run as a <b>low volume</b> hub. What I mean by low volume is personal use not as a multi-site node with a SIP softphone access. Here's how I did it.

First register for a new Server/Node with AllStar Link. You will be assigned a Node Number. You will need this later so please do it first before you tackle the next steps.

1.) Download Oracle's VirtualBox software at http://www.virtualbox.org

2.) Install VirtualBox on your computer

3.) Download the ACID distro from http://www.allstarlink.org

4:) Open up VirtualBox and create a new virtual machine ... New - New Virtual Server Wizard - Next - Give it a Name of Your Choice - Choose OS = LINUX - Version = Other - Next

5.) Give it some Memory - 1GB or 1024 MB min (but beware if your system only has 1 or 2 meg, it won't work) Your host needs about 6 meg total to support a stable virtual environment. - Next

6.) Create a Virtual Hard Disk, this is a dedicated area for your virtual machine to run. - Next - Dynamically Expanding Storage - Location, choose where you want it to reside, give it a name and assign at least 4 GB to it - Next - Finish

7.) Check the summary and then press the Finish button

8.) Start it for the first time by pressing the green Start Button on the top menu of Virtualbox - Next

9.) Select the installation media. Browse to and choose the ACID ISO file you downloaded in Step 2 - Finish

10.) Your system will now begin installation. You will see the CentOS screen come up to a "boot:" prompt - Press Enter

11.) The system will now be installed on your virtual hard disk. This may take up to 15 minutes. Wait till you see the system come back with the "Complete - Reboot" screen. AT THIS POINT DO NOT HIT ENTER!!!!!

12.) On the top menu of your Virtual Server screen choose the menu - Device - CD/DVD Devices - Remove Disk from Virtual Drive - hit your Rt Cntl Key and then - Enter

13.) The system will reboot using the newly installed Distro - This may take a few minutes

14.) Your first prompt will be asking you about a static IP address for Eth0. If you are the average user who has a broadband connection you will want to answer N to this. - Type N and press Enter

15.) The disto willl download the appropriate programs from the respositories on the Internet. This may take a few minutes depending on your connection

16.) Next you will change your root or administrative password. Enter your password here and don't lose it!!!!!!

17.) Next it will ask you if you want the files to be provided by the AllStar Portal Server. Choose Y and press Enter

18.) Enter the info requested about your node number and password and other info requested.

19.) The system will continue to configure itself. this will take a few minutes

20.) Finally your system will come to a prompt that will display the following {Callsign} log

21.) Type root and press Enter

22.) Enter the password you chose

23.) At this point you should see a prompt that says root@{callsign} ~]#

24:) You will now need to configure the virtual firewall. At the prompt root@{callsign} ~]# type in the command ifconfig and press Enter

25.) Look for the paragraph that says eth0. find the second line that says inet addre: {IP Address} and write down this IP address. It will probably be something like 10.0.2.15

26.) You also need to configure virtual firewall port forwarding on Virtualbox. To do this, on your virtual server, choose Devices - Network Adapters - Adapter 1 - Port Forwarding - Rule 1 - Protocol = UDP - Host IP {enter the IP address of your host computer - (to find this go to the Windows Start Button and in the Search field type in CMD - Enter. Then at the C: prompt issue the command IPCONFIG. Look for where it says IPv4 Adrdress) and enter this address. Host Port - 4569 - Guest IP (enter the IP address here that you wrote down in step 25) - Guest Port 4569 - and press OK.

27.) Next you want to setup your broadband firewall. Make sure your system is port forwarding port 4569 to your host computer. I can't tell you how to do this since every firewall is different. If you are unsure how to do this, contact the person who setup your firewall, your ISP or consult your instruction manual. Here is where your can find common firewall vendors

Dlink - http://www.dlink.com
Cisco - http://www.cisco.com
Zyxel - http://www.zyxel.com

28.) You must now reboot your virtual server to test it. To do this at your virtual server window choose - Machine - on the top menu and then choose - Close - Power off the Machine. Wait for the window to close down.

29.) Start your machine again buy clicking the Start button on the top of the VirtualBox Manager

30.) After it reaches the the {Callsign} login: prompt, wait a few moments and log into http://www.allstarlink.org

31.) Log into the AllStar Link Network website and go to - Network - All Online Nodes and look for your node number. If it is registered correctly, you should see it listed as Online.

32.) The next thing you want to do is get a softphone program to test and access your new node. I recommend X-LITE which is very easy to use. You can get it here http://www.counterpath.com/x-lite.html

33.) Configure X-LITE according to the description on the Allstar Link support page https://allstarlink.org/support.html under "Access from SIP devices"

34.) If you have configured your server correctly, you should see it registered on the AllStar Link Active Nodes List and be able to access it via the X-LITE softphone.

35.) At this point you should have an active node.

PLEASE NOTE: IF YOU ARE ATTEMPTING TO USE THE WEB TRANSCEIVER FOR ANYTHING OTHER THAN CONNECTING TO ANOTHER NODE (IE, TRANSCEIVE ACCESS WITH A HEADSET) THIS CONFIGURATION WILL NOT WORK. IT MAY WORK FOR A TIME BUT IT WILL EVENTUALLY BECOME UNSTABLE AND QUIT WORKING. THE ONLY CONSISTENT WAY I HAVE FOUND THIS TO WORK IS VIA A SIP DEVICE OR SOFTPHONE.

If you need any help, you can email me at art@w2bap.com. I'll try to help you as time permits.

KF5RJQ
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 4:57 am

Re: Setting up ACID in a virtual environment for personal us

Postby KF5RJQ » Mon Sep 24, 2012 10:54 pm

I have set up the ACID install in two different VMware instances, one on the west coast in a small data center (with 1 Gbps connection to the world) and one at home, with considerably less.

The biggest problem in all of this is timing between the real world and the virtualized world. I ensured the memory allocated to my allstar is locked into the vmware system's space, and will not page out. I also dedicated a single CPU to the allstar box, which on my 4 CPU or 8 CPU system is no real hardship. I configured each VM to only have 1 CPU anyway.

--Michael


Return to “ACID Distribution”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest